Author Topic: architect looking move back to his roots  (Read 3063 times)

svsarma

• View Profile
architect looking move back to his roots
« on: June 13, 2007, 04:37:40 AM »
Hi all,
I am an Indian whos been out of India since 1990. My only architecture experience in India has been my Undergrad Architecture degree.  For all purposes I am an american Architect as I went to school in the US for Post Grad and have been working here for 11 years, having worked in arizona, texas etc.
However I miss the things in Architecture in the US that in the first place caused me to fall in love with it in India. The US is very business oreinted and regimental, the architecture very code-driven.
Also I feel that architecture is genetic. What I mean is I am an Indian Architect and thus misplaced in the USA.
However my immediate family paint a negative picture of the profession in India wrt contractors, bribery, corruption and a general ambiguity about the profession in India.
As you can understand with a family and 2 kids its not a easy logistic to move to India on a whim.
My questions are:
how difficult is it to set up a practise and get projects?
what are the expereince with client in regards to paying fees?
Are architects expected to manage construction (or just weekly site visits)
any advise over and above to help me make up my mind will help!
sorry if it sounds vague
vsarma

shyam

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2007, 12:15:30 PM »
Hi,