Author Topic: What should I b doing?  (Read 2986 times)

Architect partly

What should I b doing?
« on: September 23, 2005, 09:49:50 PM »
I graduated in architecture from India and is currently employed as an architectural assistant in the United Kingdom. The term 'Architect' cannot be used for my designation even though I have completed the course since I did not graduate frm the UK and have not been registered here yet.
I have been working for the past 4 yrs in different countries out of which the past one year i spent working in UK & Ire.
One thing I was really fascinated by after I started working in the UK is the passion architects here have when designing a project.  Their approach to a design.. no matter wht project size is worth a praise.  Ever since I graduated I have been searching really hard to find wht my style is and what sort of an approach I must take towards design. Clearly my course did not help me one bit and did NOT give me an understanding of architecture or the profession! There has not been a single day tht has gone past without regretting wht am I still doin in architecture.
Mind you I am really good at the job for some reason and didnt have to try hard to get employed and am also currently employed at the 4th largest firm in UK.
Has anyone gone thru a stage where they felt that whtever they are doing is just not good enough and theres not a single design that one can be really proud about?
OR is it just me...I have thought abt quitting many times...but I knw this is wht I want to do and someday want to be proud of my work.

What should I b doing?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 08:36:55 AM »
two things:

first- your architectural education is not competitive
second- because of the first , you are not confident.

add on - go back to india im sure youll be happy to practice your own.

meta

What should I b doing?
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2005, 02:53:10 PM »